Best Of Both Worlds

Today is World Ankylosing Spondylitis Day  and we are supposed to do random acts of kindness and use that opportunity to raise awareness. This is the best of both of my worlds… raising awareness and random acts of kindness. I am grateful that the team I work with to raise awareness, ASAP Ankylosing Spondylitis Awareness Project chose something dear to my heart to use as our way to raise awareness.

I am just grateful to be a part of this wonderful project and community.

My random act of kindness for Ankylosing Spondylitis… Was when I was checking out at Wal Mart and the cashier said my total, I leaned in and asked her to add the lady behind me purchases. She was so busy talking she didn’t even notice, until we loaded up my basket. She tells the cashier oh my you loaded my groceries in her basket. The cashier said no, here they are.. the nice lady paid for them. She turned to look at me and said, Did you mean to?  I said yes.. I am doing a random act of kindness today in the Honor of Stuart Ray and Sara Frankl.. who like myself suffer from Ankylosing Spondylitis. I told her they were no longer alive, so today on World Ankylosing Spondylitis Day I would honor them both… I handed her a small card I had made with “The Faces of Ankylosing Spondylitis.com ” on it. I asked her to please pay foward and mention AS when she does, with tears in her eyes, she promised she would. By this time we had a nice size group listening..

Today I am grateful for too many things to list… but most of all that I am blessed enough to do these random acts of kindness that I have done for  many years.. and to be able to still enjoy my life to do so… and that so far I am still an Ankylosing Spondylitis Survivor.

Dedicated to Stuart Ray and Sara Frankl may you both rest in peace.

9 thoughts on “Best Of Both Worlds

Leave a Reply

