Lean On Me

I have always been a calm, strong and take charge person when my family was in a crisis. I never showed my fear or tried not to. I stayed focus making sure everything possible was being done and everyone was okay. They say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. I guess that is true in some ways. Sometimes my husband will tell me I am one of the strongest people he has ever met, but even concrete will eventually crumble under enough pressure.

The phone rang today… it was my husband telling me my granddaughter had fallen and knocked her self unconscious and the ambulance was on its way.

I am on my way there, you stay home and I will call you. I hung up the phone in a panick. Seems I have lost my ability to stay calm anymore.

Please don’t get me wrong… but sometimes not matter how good you are, how kind you are, how much you cry, believe or pray…. bad things happen.

I couldn’t call my daughter because I knew she was in the middle of a crisis and didn’t need an emotional mother to deal with also.

So I called Kelly, who listened to me cry, rant, vent, curse, and pray. Who allowed me to lose it, but softly kept whispering to me. It will be okay.

This time we were blessed, prayers were answered and for that I am thankful.

I am grateful for many things today, one being someone who would listen to me on the end of a phone line and care enough to soothe my broken heart.

Thank you for lending me your strength, and your faith. Thank you for saying the prayers that I couldn’t find the words for.

Leave a Reply

