Round Table Discussions

Today was the day that Christy decided Taylor should come home. I am going to miss that child, it has been so much fun having her here, but this old body is tired. We decided to meet up for lunch so we could have family time. We ended up sitting at a booth and I asked to be moved to the big round table. Hunter and I need room when we eat, it isn’t easy eating at a crowded table when one of you is blind and the other can’t look down.

So we settled in, order a little bit of this and that, hamburgers, chicken fried steaks, baby back ribs, hamburgers and all the fixings.

I am always amazed at the intelligence and comprehension my grandchildren display toward life in general.

Our life has always been full of tragedies and sorrow so I guess they lost their innocence at an early age. We have never sheltered them or hid the truth about what was going on in our lives, we have always been upfront and honest with them, which in turn created some very compassionate and understanding people.

They are always interested in the projects I am doing for Ankylosing Spondylitis awareness. Taylor popped up that she spent the day being stiff and not moving and informing everyone my gosh it sure hurts! They not only show sympathy toward people but they are empathic as well.

They each want to contribute to my awareness, so Taylor is going to help me with the Ankylosing Spondylitis Women’s Movement, Hunter is going to do me videos of songs he is going to compose for Ankylosing Spondylitis Awareness and Austin is going to help me create artwork for the ACE program for awareness.

I was stunned when they brought up the subject of me donating my body for AS research, one that they still remembered and two that they were still so supportive of it.

Sometimes the greatest and most rewarding moments in life are at a round table discussing important things in your life over baby backed ribs and laughter.

Today I am grateful to know that my daughter and grandchildren will still carry on the values in life that are important to me.

Random acts of kindness.

Compassion toward others.

Being people of action, willing to stand up for what they believe in.

But most of all, being the change they want to see in the world.

Leave a Reply

