Hurricane “Sandy”

Being from Texas, sometimes I feel like a Hurricane Veteran, because I assure you, it feels like war. I have lost everything I owned twice, due to flooding in my home, caused by a Tropical Depression. Since then I am always respectful and frightened by the dangers a hurricane can cause. Hurricane Ike was not kind to us, but our insurance company was crueller, finding any and  every loophole possible to get out of paying for what we had worked so hard to pay for, not only our material things but insurance coverage. Now I find myself in a different situation, worrying over people I have become close to, who are now in Hurricane Sandy’s way. My heart is troubled, and worried for their safety and how difficult this will be for them.

Today I am grateful that everyone I know is safe and alive, some suffering more than others, but still with us.

Leave a Reply

