They Got My Back

It’s funny what started out to be one of the worse things of my life in 2002, has turned out to be the greatest days of my life. Every 4 to 8 weeks I go to Baylor Medical Clinic to have my remicade infusion. Over the years the nurses there have become like family to me, they are a wonderful group of women.They have listened to my stories of my family. They have listened to me brag about my accomplishments. They have comforted my fears and wiped away my tears, but most of all they have allowed me to be me, the real me. The one who worries about tomorrow, the one who wishes sometimes she wouldn’t wake up, the one who wants to help everyone, the one who will fight no matter what. They have been my strength, my courage, and my hope. They have been my mother, my father, my spouse, my daughter, and my friend during the past 10 years of my life. I owe it to them for making me the person I am now in my life with Ankylosing Spondylitis.

I know they have my back, especially when they call and say Hey we are having AS Awareness shirts made. Today I surprised them with the shirts I had made for them, and their AS wristbands.

When I told them I had a surprise for them, Genie, my hero, came in on her day off to visit with me. I brought her copies of the Spondylitis Plus magazine which features the Faces of Ankylosing Spondylitis, along with Genie and I.

Next remicade appointment, we will be having a family portrait made!

Today I am grateful for Genie, Sam, Tina, and the rest of the crew whose name escapes me at this moment, but will be added. There are no words to express my gratitude for these remarkable women.

Leave a Reply

